top of page
Search
  • ashleyabduok

Lab 2: Don't Ignore Climate Change

The ocean will thank you

Vacation photo from Fort Myers Beach on the Gulf of Mexico, in Fort Myers, Florida on September 3, 2021. One of many breathtaking photos captured of the ocean during our trip.


Climate Change and it's obvious affect on weather...

When reflecting on my life journey I can’t really think of a time that I was personally affected by climate change, although I am sure I have been – however nothing is jumping out at me, but I have made some observations on how climate change has been affecting the world around us. For starters and the most obvious observation has been changes in weather. Our winters are warmer and the longing for a “white Christmas” seems to dwell as the years pass. Our summers are cooler affecting the blooming of apple trees, which I’m sure impacted local distributors and farmers, which in turn goes from an ecological issue, to an economical issue.


Bystanders watch as storm clouds brew at Lovers Key. A beach located on the Gulf of Mexico in Fort Myers, Florida on Septmeber 1st, 2021.

Get Thinking - Don't be oblivious to climate change (Like I was)

To be completely honest – climate change has never really been on the forefront of my mind. That sounds ignorant, but it’s not because I don’t care – I just have been passionate about other issues, but I know it is important to keep informed and do small things personally to do my part in protecting our planet. Which got me thinking – at the beginning of the month I was in Florida and spent every day at the beach. The ocean is my favorite place to be, so how could I have been so small minded when it comes to how climate change is directly affecting that?


According to oceanconservancy.org – the ocean has protected us from the worst effects of climate change. It has absorbed more than 90% of the heat from global warming and about one-third of carbon emissions – all human caused. Because of this we are now seeing devastating effects of that heat and carbon dioxide


Imagine not being able to lay on the beach with your friends, relaxing in the ocean breeze...


Okay, that was harsh - but the effects on our oceans due to climate change are far more harsh.

These effects include; ocean acidifications, a rise in sea-level and more frequent, stronger and more devastating natural disasters, such as hurricanes. All of these are causing damage to coastal industries and communities – specifically communities of color, indigenous communities, poor communities and others that are historically overlooked. Not only is this effected those individuals, but we can’t forget about artic animals, ecosystems and other sea life as well.


I have often looked at the ocean as a beautiful, almost scary and mysterious, yet wonderous space – and we need to protect it and we

cannot do that without acting on the climate change crisis.

For more info visit oceanconservancy.org/climate/



Fort Myers residents laying on Fort Myers Beach on the Gulf of Mexico in Fort Myers, Florida on September 1st, 2021. Captured, but not fully visible - the girls are each drawing pictures of the sunset.




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page